GOT A UKULELE - Learn Ukulele, beginners tips and reviews: UKULELE REVIEWS


Have you ever asked yourself 'what ukulele should I buy?,

Or 'what's the best ukulele?' If so, this collection of all uke reviews by Got A Ukulele should be just what you need! Think of it as a 'Ukulele Buyers guide'! (Items in Bold are those that I think deserve the highest praise!)

ukulele reviews

**Important notes about the reviews**

Bear in mind, all my reviews are COMPLETELY IMPARTIAL  and I don't do paid reviews, or good scores for free instruments (many sites do, not me). And also not those dreaded 'uke reviews' sites which have just used Amazon reviews hoping you will click and earn them affiliate revenues, or reviews from stores that have a vested interest to plug what they are selling - these are real reviews! Sorry to go on about that, but some people do like to claim that I work for a uke brand or a uke shop - I really DO NOT! Each review will state where the uke was from and whether they were loaned to test or I bought them myself. I try to keep suppliers balanced and the amount I review that are bought vs loaned balanced too.

I am in touch with all leading brands, so if a brand is missing from the list I will let you draw your own conclusions as to why!

You will note that the instrument reviews below are scored - a quick word on the scoring system.

Perhaps they will cause controversy or debate - who knows. Remember this though - reviews and scores are a personal thing. I am not telling you my scoring is right, or that if you have a different opinion, you are wrong. They are just MY opinions of the ukes I play with the style I play. There would be little point in me writing reviews based on what other people think.

The scores are also unchanged from the date they were written - I do not go back and re-write scores, but my opinions often change. They are a snapshot of the feelings I had when I wrote them. I realise that can create some disparity but bear that in mind. (obviously six years ago I had different takes on things, different exposure etc)

Looks - how the ukulele looks to me. Not concerned with finish or faults - just how it grabs me to the eye. Entirely personal!

Fit and finish - ignoring whether I like the looks - how is it built - how is the finish or paint, are the frets smooth, what is the action and intonation like, how are the tuners? - you get the drill.. Doesn't matter if it's a cheap uke or expensive - if the finish is bad, it gets a low score (cheap ukes can build points in the value for money section and likewise, well finished ukes that are over priced will score lower there)

Sound - how it sounds to my ears with my style of playing, with the preferred strings I have settled on. 

Value for money - what it says on the tin - all things considered, how suitable is this for the money in your pocket.

Anyway - I hope that helps and provides a bit more balance to the reviews!

You may also find this video helpful! All those  ukes featured in the video are reviewed below!

Oh, and please - don't get too bothered if you disagree with a  review - these are just one mans opinion. If you have the same uke and love it, then that is cool too... naturally. In fact - this rant on the subject may interest you..  And whilst I would encourage you to read through all of these - this may cut to the chase - My Top Choices For Best Ukuleles

If you have an instrument or ukulele related product that you would like me to review, then GET IN TOUCH.



Ukuleles £0 - £50 at time of review

ALIC SOPRANO Uke - 7.8 out of 10 (Feb 2015)

CLIFTON - LIDL - UKULELE SOPRANO KIT- 6 out of 10 (Nov 2011)

HARLEY BENTON HBUK-11NT SOPRANO - 5.5 out of 10 (Aug 2012)

KORALA EXPLORE - ABS PLASTIC CONCERT ukulele - 8 out of 10 (Dec 2013)

MAKALA DOLPHIN ukulele - plastic back edition -  7.9 out of 10 (Apr 2010)

MAKALA WATERMAN SOPRANO - 8.6 out of 10 (Jun 2015)

MAHALO FLYING V UKULELE - 4 out of 10 (Nov 2013)

MAHALO 2500 KAHIKO SOPRANO - 6.5 out of 10 (Dec 2015)

OCTOPUS SOPRANO - 8.4 out of 10 (Apr 2014)

READY ACE SOPRANO - 0 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

SCHOENHUT OAK MAHOGANY - 6.3 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

STAGG US10 Soprano - 6 out of 10 ( Feb 2015)

TIGER UKE7 Beginner Soprano - 7.8 out of 10 (Jul 2016)

VINTAGE VUK20 SOPRANO - 3.8 out of 10 (Nov 2015)

WOODI SOPRANO - 8 out of 10 (Jun 2014)

Ukuleles £50- £100  at time of review

AIERSI SU-044T Concert - 8.5 out of 10 (February 2016)

Ashbury AU50 Concert - 8.4 out of 10 (May 2016)

BATON ROUGE V2C SUN Concert uke - 8.9 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

BUGSGEAR AQULELE - 6.6 out of 10 ( Apr 2014)

ELEUKE PEANUT - 5.8 out of 10 (Nov 2012)

EPIPHONE LES PAUL - 7.1 out of 10 (Aug 2015)

FLIGHT DUS320 Soprano - Coming Soon!

FLIGHT NUS310 Soprano - 7.9 out of 10 (Sep 2016)

iUke PICCOLO MINI UKULELE  - 7.9 out of 10 (Jul 2014)

KAKA KUS-25D Soprano - 6 out of 10 (Oct 2016

KALA KA-S Soprano - 8.3 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

KAUAI KUC-70B ukulele - 8.1 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

LANIKAI LU21 - 7.6 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

LUNA TATTOO CONCERT - 6.9 out 10 (Oct 2015)

MAHALO 2016 K / ULTD2 Soprano - 7.3 out of 10 (June 2016)

MAHALO U320B Baritone ukulele - 7.4 out of 10 (Jan 2016)

MOSELELE BAMBOOKULELE Concert - 8.5 out of 10 (Sep 2013)

OHANA SK-10S - 7.9 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

OZARK 2035 Banjolele - Initial review 8 out of 10 (Apr 2010)

SNAIL UKS-220 Rosewood Soprano - 8.9 out of 10 (Apr 2015)

SOUTHERN UKULELE STORE (ARIA) ALL SOLID Concert - 8.6 out of 10 (Mar 2013)

Ukuleles £100 - £200 at time of review

ANTONIO LEMEZ CANARIAN TIMPLE  - 7.8 out of 10 (Mar 2012)

BRÜKO No.6 SOPRANO UKULELE  - 8.6 out of 10 (May 2012)

BRUKO Black slimline soprano ukulele - 8 out of 10 (Aug 2010)

BRÜKO No 9 TENOR - 8.5 out of 10  (Jun 2014)

BUZZARDS FIELD AFAN Uke Bass - 8.8 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

CLEARWATER Roundback Baritone - 8.8 out of 10 (July 2016)

CLOUD MUSIC HM12 Concert ukulele - 8.8 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

CORDOBA 20TM-CE Tenor - 8.1 out of 10 (July 2016)

ELEUKE SC100PHP  - 7.1 out of 10 (Dec 2009)

FLEA Ukulele - From the Magic Fluke Company - 8.4 out of 10 (May 2010)

FLUKE Ukulele  - 8.4 out of 10 (Aug 2010)

JOHN DANIEL PIXIE SOPRANINO - 8.8 out of 10 (Jan 2014)

KALA KA-SSTU-C Travel Concert - 8.6 out 10 (Dec 2015)

Kala KA-ZCT-T Ziricote Tenor - 8.6 out of 10 (Aug 2016)

LANI LC-55MOCEQ Electro Concert - 7.9 out of 10 (Apr 2015)

LANIKAI LUTU-21C Tuna Uke - 8.4 out of 10 (Apr 2014)

MABUHAY MC-11 Concert - 8.5 out of 10 (Apr 2016)

MAINLAND MAHOGANY CONCERT ukulele - 8.3 out of 10 (May 2010)


NOAH MONKEYPOD TENOR ukulele - 8.5 out of 10 (Dec 2013)

NOAH MAHOGANY CONCERT - 8.6 out of 10 (Feb 2014)

NOAH Campanella Uke - 8.1 out of 10 (Oct 2014)


OHANA SK-25 SOPRANO  - 8.6 out of 10 (Oct 2012)

OMEGA ZEDRO II CONCERT Uke - 8.9 out of 10 (Nov 2014)

PUKA PK PHC Concert  - 8.3 out of 10 (Nov 2012)

RIPTIDE EUC-5NS Electro Concert 8.8 out of 10 (Feb 2013)

RISA UKE-SOLID electric ukulele- 8.3 out of 10 (Jul 2012)

VOX UKELECTRIC 33 CONCERT - 7.3 out of 10 (Oct 2015)

Ukuleles £200 - £500 at time of review

ANUENUE AFRICA MAHOGANY II concert - 9 out of 10 (March 2016)

BARNES AND MULLINS CALTHORPE Electro Concert 8 out of 10 (Feb 2013)

BIG ISLAND TRADITIONAL KOA CONCERT review - 9.3 out of 10 (Jun 2012)


COCOBOLO TENOR Ukulele - 8.9 out of 10 (Dec 2015)

DEERING GOODTIME BANJO UKULELE  - 8.9 out of 10 (Jan 2016)

DJ MORGAN MAHOGANY SOPRANO - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2015)

DUKE Banjouke - 8.4 out of 10 (Sept 2016)

ISLANDER MST-4 TENOR - 8.4 out of 10 (Aug 2012)

KALA ASAC-TE/C Electro Tenor - 8.9 out of 10 (Jan 2013)

KALA KA-RES-CHR Tenor Resonator Uke - 8.3 out of 10 (Nov 2014)

KALA KA-SRT-CTG-CE - 9.1 out of 10 (Oct 2015)

KAMOA E3E BASS UKULELE - 8.5 out of 10 (Aug 2014)

KIWAYA KS5 SOPRANO - 9.1 out of 10 (Dec 2012)

KOALOHA PIKAKE SOPRANO ukulele review - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

KREMONA COCO TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

MAGIC FLUKE FIREFLY BANJO UKULELE Review - 8 out if 10 (Apr 2012)

MARTIN T1K TENOR UKULELE - 8.9 out of 10 (Sep 2012)

OHANA TK-35G-5 5 STRING TENOR  8.5 out of 10 (Mar 2013)

OHANA TKS-15E electro tenor - 7.5 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

PONO ATDC Tenor - 9.3 out of 10 (May 2016)

PONO MB-e Baritone - 9 out of 10 (May 2015)

PONO MHC PRO CLASSIC Concert ukulele review - 9 out of 10 (Sep 2011)

PONO MTD-E ELECTRO ACOUSTIC TENOR 9.1 out of 10 (Apr 2013)

PSI S-LEO II TENOR - 8.1 out of 10 (Jul 2015)

WUNDERKAMMER IKE SOPRANO - 9 out of 10 (Jun 2015)

Ukuleles £500 plus

BELTONA TENOR RESONATOR - 9.3 out of 10 (Nov 2015)

BLACKBIRD CLARA Concert - 9.3 out of 10 (October 2016)

GODIN MULTIUKE Tenor electro - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2013)

KANILE'A K-1 TENOR - ukulele review - 9.3 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

TINGUITAR CUSTOM SOLID TENOR - top marks! (Jan 2015)


Fluke Ukulele two years on

Kanile'a K1 Tenor nearly 18 months on

Makala Dolphin Soprano - nearly three years on

Koaloha Pikake Soprano nearly two years on

A look at the Ohana Ukuleles development process

Schoenhut long term test - in summary - AWFUL!

UKE Magazine - 12 months on


UKE LEASH - my review of the Uke Leash Half Strap

VOLCAPO - my review of the volcapo ukulele capo

KALA KC02 Clip On Tuner

SNARK - my review of the Snark ukulele clip on tuner

UKESTAR STRAPS - nice funky looking uke straps




GREAT ASWEGO FATBOY KAZOO - first class product!

PUB PROP Ukulele hanger

NEOTECH Ukulele Strap

MOBIUS Ukulele Strap



FISHMAN AG 094 Ukulele Pickup


UKULELE HANGERS paracord wall hangers

KALA UKE CRAZY Alligator finish Tenor case

TGI ABS Hard Ukulele Case


Round up of Ukulele tuning devices

LR Baggs Venue DI


Waverly Ukulele friction tuning pegs

FUSION - Urban Double Gig Bag

D'Addario Clip On Tuners

Ukulele Capos roundup

Logjam Travelog 2 

ROLAND AC33 Amplifier - Coming Soon!


Tun-D iPhone ukulele tuner

UkuChords - iPhone ukulele chord app

Ukulele Tabs - iPhone

Strobe Tuner Pro App - iPhone and iPad


Bosko and Honey Present - Ukulele Safari Volume 1 CD

Chonkinfeckle - I'm From Wigan Me - CD

Eddie Vedder - Ukulele Songs - CD

Introducing... The Paul Hemmings Uketet - CD

Mighty Uke - DVD

Rae Carter - Pathetic (But He's Fun) - CD

Tricity Vogue - The Blue Lady Sings

Manitoba Hal - Flirting With Mermaids CD

Ukulele Exercises For Dummies - Brett McQueen

The Anything Goes Orchestra - Mr Otis Regrets CD review

The pUKEs - Too Drunk To Pluck CD review

Get Plucky With The Ukulele - Will Grove-White

UkePunk - Punk Police CD 

Phil Doleman - Old Is The New New CD

Ukulele Handbook For Beginners - Aaron and Nicole Keim

UKE Magazine

Gerald: A Ukulele Adventure - Jake Smithies and Nicole Ramsden

Manitoba Hal - Dancing In The Moonlight EP

Ben Rouse - Love Of Rin

Jono and The Uke Dealers first EP 

Rik McCormick - Pies Love and Ukulele EP

Phil Doleman and Ian Emmerson - Can't Get Enough Of That Stuff


Seaguar Blue Label Fishing Leader Line - No, really! (my strings of choice!)

D'Addario Pro-Arté J71 Tenor strings D'addario T2 Titanium Tenor strings

D'addario T2 Titanium Tenor strings

Living Water Strings

La Bella Uke-Pro strings

Aquila Lava Strings


  1. I have been using a great tuner for Android (don't know if there's an iPhone version), called DaTuner. It is a chromatic tuner which is remarkably easy to use and very accurate. The free version is great, but there is also a paid version with more bells and whistles.

  2. Has anyone heard a banjo ukulele by a company called Broadway or a company with a model called broadway. It looks very old. the back is from a good quality wood with RKO radio shapes cut out.

  3. has anyone trid chineese hanknn ukes they are all solid woods (exotic) and look tasty but no reviews

  4. Hiya,
    Do you know where I could purchase a hard case for a matching pair of concert uke's ?

    Sorry had to put ID as anonymous as I don't know how this works
    my email address is

  5. Any chance of one of your fine reviews for a Baritone Uke in the future? There are a lot of us Bari players out there!

  6. @Kit - there is a Pono baritone review above - but funny you should say that - the next review is of a Baritone!

  7. Any chance of a guitalele/guitar-ukulele/etc. review at some point? Seem to be more and more of these cropping up at the moment - would be good to have your thoughts on them.

  8. I noticed that you have yet to revue a Gretsch. Here in the US they seem to have a pretty good price point.

  9. Norm - yes I asked Gretsch to loan me one - but they are one of a few who were not interested. Make of that what you will!

  10. Hi! Please do a review of the Cordoba UP100 Concert uke. Thanks!

  11. Hi. You say that you are going to review Flight DUS 320 soon. But is it possible to know your review score in advance, if you have already tried it? I was just considering buying one these days. Thanks for the site!

  12. Sadly not - haven't even opened the box yet - will be a few weeks yet!


Leave me a comment!

Do you enjoy this blog? Donate to help keeping it going!

If you enjoy this blog, donations are welcomed to allow me to invest more time in bringing you ukulele articles. Aside from the Google ads, I don't get paid to write this blog. Many of the review instruments are bought by Got A Ukulele then sold on at a loss or donated to charity. But buying them and keeping this going takes funds! Thank you!