UKULELE REVIEWS

Donate to help keep Got A Ukulele going!

UKULELE REVIEWS

Have you ever asked yourself 'what ukulele should I buy?, or, 'what's the best ukulele?' The Got A Ukulele reviews page collates the largest independent list of instrument reviews there is online.

Think of it as a 'Ukulele Buyers guide' to advise you as to what's the best uke! (Items in Bold are those that I think deserve the highest praise!)

ukulele reviews



**Important notes about the ukulele reviews**

Bear in mind, all my reviews are COMPLETELY IMPARTIAL  and I don't do paid reviews, or good scores for free instruments (many sites do, not me). And also not those dreaded 'uke reviews' sites which have just used Amazon reviews hoping you will click and earn them affiliate revenues, or reviews from stores that have a vested interest to plug what they are selling - these are real reviews! Sorry to go on about that, but some people do like to claim that I work for a uke brand or a uke shop - I really DO NOT!

I am in touch with all leading brands, so if a brand is missing from the list I will let you draw your own conclusions as to why! I suspect some are concerned with honesty..

Oh, and please - don't get too bothered if you disagree with a  review - these are just one man's opinion. If you have the same uke and love it, then that is cool too... naturally. In fact - this rant on the subject may interest you..  And whilst I would encourage you to read through all of these - this may cut to the chase - My Top Choices For Best Ukuleles

You should also read this which is my policy on monetisation on Got A Ukulele

If you have an instrument or ukulele related product that you would like to be featured, then GET IN TOUCH.





WHY NOT DONATE TO HELP KEEP GOT A UKULELE GOING?
THANKS!


Ukuleles £0 - £50 at time of review

ALIC SOPRANO - 7.8 out of 10 (Feb 2015)

ASHBURY LONELY PLAYER TRAVEL UKULELE - 7.5 out of 10 (Sept 2017)

ASHTON UKE 100 SOPRANO - 2.4 out of 10 (Jun 2017)

CARAMEL CC102A CONCERT - 6.6 out of 10 (Apr 2017)

CLIFTON - LIDL - UKULELE SOPRANO KIT- 6 out of 10 (Nov 2011)

DIAMOND HEAD DU-150 SOPRANO - 6 out of 10 (Jul 2017)

HARLEY BENTON HBUK-11NT SOPRANO - 5.5 out of 10 (Aug 2012)

KORALA EXPLORE - ABS PLASTIC CONCERT  - 8 out of 10 (Dec 2013)

KMISE MAHOGANY 'CARVED CAT' CONCERT - 6.9 out of 10 (Jan 2017)

MAHALO FLYING V 4 out of 10 (Nov 2013)

MAHALO 2500 KAHIKO SOPRANO - 6.5 out of 10 (Dec 2015)

MAKALA DOLPHIN SOPRANO-  7.9 out of 10 (Apr 2010)

MAKALA WATERMAN SOPRANO - 8.6 out of 10 (Jun 2015)

MAKANU MAHOGANY CONCERT - 7.9 out of 10 (Jul 2017)

MARTIN SMITH SOPRANO - Coming Soon!

MUKE MS-10 SOPRANO - 8.3 out of 10 (Sept 2017)

OCTOPUS SOPRANO - 8.4 out of 10 (Apr 2014)

READY ACE SOPRANO - Unreviewably bad! (Mar 2014)

SCHOENHUT OAK MAHOGANY - 6.3 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

STAGG US10 SOPRANO - 6 out of 10 ( Feb 2015)

TIGER UKE7 BEGINNER SOPRANO - 7.8 out of 10 (Jul 2016)

VINTAGE VUK20 SOPRANO - 3.8 out of 10 (Nov 2015)

WOODI SOPRANO - 8 out of 10 (Jun 2014)




Ukuleles £50- £100  at time of review

Ashbury AU50 CONCERT - 8.4 out of 10 (May 2016)

BATON ROUGE V2C SUN Concert uke - 8.9 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

BUGSGEAR AQULELE - 6.6 out of 10 ( Apr 2014)

DONNER DUC-3 CONCERT - 7.9 out of 10 (Apr 2017)

ELEUKE PEANUT - 5.8 out of 10 (Nov 2012)

ENYA EUR-X1 SOPRANO - 8.3 out of 10 (Aug 2017)

ENYA EUS-X1 SOPRANO - 8.8 out of 10 (Aug 2017)

EPIPHONE LES PAUL - 7.1 out of 10 (Aug 2015)

FLIGHT DUS 320 SP/ZEB SOPRANO - 8.1 out of 10 (Dec 2016)

FLIGHT NUS310 SOPRANO - 7.9 out of 10 (Sep 2016)

IBANEZ UKS 10 SOPRANO - 7.0 out of 10 (Feb 2017)

iUke PICCOLO MINI SOPRANINO  - 7.9 out of 10 (Jul 2014)

KAKA KUS-25D SOPRANO - 6 out of 10 (Oct 2016

KALA KA-S SOPRANO - 8.3 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

KAUAI KUC-70B BASS - 8.1 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

LANIKAI LU21 SOPRANO - 7.6 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

LUNA TATTOO CONCERT - 6.9 out 10 (Oct 2015)

MAHALO 2016 K / ULTD2 SOPRANO - 7.3 out of 10 (June 2016)

MAHALO U320B BARITONE- 7.4 out of 10 (Jan 2016)

MOSELELE BAMBOOKULELE CONCERT - 8.5 out of 10 (Sep 2013)

OHANA SK-10S SOPRANO - 7.9 out of 10 (Sep 2015)

OHANA SK-14 SOPRANO - 8.3 out of 10 (Jan 2017)

OZARK 2035 BANJOLELE 8 out of 10 (Apr 2010)

SNAIL UKS-220 ROSEWOOD SOPRANO - 8.9 out of 10 (Apr 2015)

SOUTHERN UKULELE STORE (ARIA) ALL SOLID CONCERT- 8.6 out of 10 (Mar 2013)

VTAB MV-TS2401 TENOR - 8.8 out of 10 (Jul 2017)




Ukuleles £100 - £200 at time of review

AIERSI SU-044T CONCERT - 8.5 out of 10 (February 2016)

AMUMU SOLID ACACIA CONCERT - 7.9 out of 10 (Jan 2017)

ANDY'S UKULELES NANO - 8.5 out of 10 (Feb 2017)

ANTONIO LEMEZ CANARIAN TIMPLE  - 7.8 out of 10 (Mar 2012)

BARNES and MULLINS BOWLEY SOPRANO - 8.4 out of 10 (Sept 2017)

BATON ROUGE V2 T5 5 STRING - 8.6 out of 10 (Apr 2017)

BATON ROUGE V2 T8 SUN 8 STRING TENOR - 8.9 out of 10 (Jan 2017)

BRÜKO No.6 SOPRANO UKULELE  - 8.6 out of 10 (May 2012)

BRUKO BLACK SLIMLINE SOPRANO - 8 out of 10 (Aug 2010)

BRÜKO No 9 TENOR  - 8.5 out of 10 (Jun 2014)

BONANZA UKULELES - HPL CONCERT - 8.8 out of 10 (Aug 2017)

BUZZARDS FIELD AFAN BASS - 8.8 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

CLEARWATER ROUNDBACK BARITONE - 8.8 out of 10 (July 2016)

CLOUD MUSIC HM12 CONCERT - 8.8 out of 10 (Sep 2014)

CORDOBA 20TM-CE TENOR - 8.1 out of 10 (July 2016)

DJ MORGAN MINI PINEAPPLE - 9.3 out of 10 (July 2017)

ELEUKE SC100PHP CONCERT - 7.1 out of 10 (Dec 2009)

FLEA SOPRANO - 8.4 out of 10 (May 2010)

FLUKE TENOR  - 8.4 out of 10 (Aug 2010)

JOHN DANIEL PIXIE SOPRANINO - 8.8 out of 10 (Jan 2014)

KALA KA-SSTU-C TRAVEL CONCERT - 8.6 out 10 (Dec 2015)

Kala KA-ZCT-T ZIRICOTE TENOR - 8.6 out of 10 (Aug 2016)

LANI LC-55MOCEQ CONCERT - 7.9 out of 10 (Apr 2015)

LANIKAI LUTU-21C TUNA UKE - 8.4 out of 10 (Apr 2014)

MABUHAY MC-11 CONCERT - 8.5 out of 10 (Apr 2016)

MAINLAND MAHOGANY CONCERT - 8.3 out of 10 (May 2010)

MAINLAND RED CEDAR GLOSS SOPRANO - 8.6 out of 10 (May 2017)

MOSELELE SOLID ELECTRO CONCERT BAMBOOKULELE - 8.6 out of 10 (Mar 2015)

NOAH MONKEYPOD TENOR  - 8.5 out of 10 (Dec 2013)

NOAH MAHOGANY CONCERT - 8.6 out of 10 (Feb 2014)

NOAH CAMPANELLA CONCERT - 8.1 out of 10 (Oct 2014)

NOAH MAHOGANY SOPRANO - 8.8 out of 10 (Aug 2017)

OHANA O'NINO SOPRANINO - 8.4 out of 10 (Nov 2016)

OHANA SK-25 SOPRANO  - 8.5 out of 10 (Oct 2012)

OMEGA ZEDRO II CONCERT  - 8.9 out of 10 (Nov 2014)

PUKA PK PHC CONCERT - 8.3 out of 10 (Nov 2012)

RIPTIDE EUC-5NS ELECTRO CONCERT 8.8 out of 10 (Feb 2013)

RISA UKE-SOLID CONCERT- 8.3 out of 10 (Jul 2012)

SNAIL UKT-528 TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Dec 2016)

VOX UKELECTRIC 33 CONCERT - 7.3 out of 10 (Oct 2015)



-->



Ukuleles £200 - £500 at time of review


ANUENUE AFRICA MAHOGANY II CONCERT - 9 out of 10 (March 2016)

BARNES AND MULLINS CALTHORPE ELECTRO CONCERT 8 out of 10 (Feb 2013)

BIG ISLAND TRADITIONAL KOA CONCERT - 9.3 out of 10 (Jun 2012)

COCOBOLO SUPER SOPRANO - 9 out of 10 (Nov 2016)

COCOBOLO TENOR - 8.9 out of 10 (Dec 2015)

DEERING GOODTIME BANJO UKULELE  - 8.9 out of 10 (Jan 2016)

DJ MORGAN MAHOGANY SOPRANO - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2015)

DUKE BANJOUKE - 8.4 out of 10 (Sept 2016)

DUKE 10 TENOR BANJO UKULELE - 9 out of 10 (May 2017)

FENDER MONTECITO KOA TENOR - Coming soon!

ISLANDER MST-4 TENOR - 8.4 out of 10 (Aug 2012)

HAMANO H-100 SOPRANO - 8.4 out of 10 (Jul 2017)

KALA ASAC-TE/C ELECTRO TENOR - 8.9 out of 10 (Jan 2013)

KALA KA-ABP-CTG BARITONE - 8.9 out of 10 (Mar 2017)

KALA KA-RES-CHR TENOR RESONATOR - 8.3 out of 10 (Nov 2014)

KALA KA-SRT-CTG-CE COMFORT EDGE TENOR - 9.1 out of 10 (Oct 2015)

KAMOA E3E BASS UKULELE - 8.5 out of 10 (Aug 2014)

KIWAYA KS5 SOPRANO - 9.1 out of 10 (Dec 2012)

KOALOHA PIKAKE SOPRANO  - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

KREMONA COCO TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

MAGIC FLUKE FIREFLY SOPRANO BANJO UKULELE - 8 out of 10 (Apr 2012)

MAGIC FLUKE FIREFLY TENOR BANJO UKULELE - 9.1 out of 10 (Sept 2017)

MARTIN OX UKE BAMBOO SOPRANO - 8.8 out of 10 (May 2017)

MARTIN S1 SOPRANO - 8.9 out of 10 (Apr 2017)

MARTIN T1K TENOR UKULELE - 8.9 out of 10 (Sep 2012)

NOAH GUITALELE - 8.6 out of 10 (Jun 2017)

OHANA BK-70 BARITONE - 7.9 out of 10 (Feb 2017)

OHANA PKC-50G CONCERT - 8.5 out of 10 (Dec 2016)

OHANA SK-35 SOPRANO - 8.6 out of 10 (Jun 2017)

OHANA TK-35G-5 5 STRING TENOR  8.5 out of 10 (Mar 2013)

OHANA TKS-15E ELECTRO TENOR - 7.5 out of 10 (Mar 2014)

PONO ATDC TENOR - 9.3 out of 10 (May 2016)

PONO MB-e BARITONE- 9 out of 10 (May 2015)

PONO MHC PRO CLASSIC CONCERT - 9 out of 10 (Sep 2011)

PONO MTD-E ELECTRO ACOUSTIC TENOR 9.1 out of 10 (Apr 2013)

PSI S-LEO II TENOR - 8.1 out of 10 (Jul 2015)

SIGMA SUM-2S SOPRANO - Coming Soon!

TINGUITAR RECLAIMED MAHOGANY SOPRANO - 9.3 out of 10 (Jun 2017)

WORLD OF UKES PIONEER 1T TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Mar 2017)

WUNDERKAMMER IKE SOPRANO - 9 out of 10 (Jun 2015)



Ukuleles £500 plus

ANUENUE UT200 MOON BIRD TENOR - 9.5 out of 10 (Nov 2016)

BELTONA TENOR RESONATOR - 9.3 out of 10 (Nov 2015)

BLACKBIRD CLARA CONCERT- 9.3 out of 10 (October 2016)

GODIN MULTIUKE TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Aug 2013)

GRENOSI SOPRANO MACHETE UKULELE - 9.1 out of 10 (Apr 2017)

KALA 3KOA-TG ELITE TENOR - Coming Soon!

KANILE'A K-1 TENOR  - 9.3 out of 10 (Aug 2011)

KIWAYA KTS-5 SOPRANO - 9.3 out of 10 (May 2017)

KOALOHA OPIO SPRUCE TOP TENOR - 9 out of 10 (Mar 2017)

CHRIS PERKINS T25 TENOR - 9.3 out of 10 (Mar 2017)

TINGUITAR CUSTOM SOLID TENOR - top marks! (Jan 2015)






LONG TERM UKULELE TESTS and OTHER FEATURES

Fluke Ukulele two years on

Kanile'a K1 Tenor nearly 18 months on

Makala Dolphin Soprano - nearly three years on

Koaloha Pikake Soprano nearly two years on

A look at the Ohana Ukuleles development process

Schoenhut long term test - in summary - AWFUL!

UKE Magazine - 12 months on

Flea Soprano Ukulele - nearly 10 years on!




UKULELE ACCESSORY REVIEWS


UKE LEASH - my review of the Uke Leash Half Strap

VOLCAPO - my review of the volcapo ukulele capo

KALA KC02 Clip On Tuner

SNARK - my review of the Snark ukulele clip on tuner

UKESTAR STRAPS - nice funky looking uke straps

PETERSON STROBOCLIP TUNER - supreme accuracy!

UKE LEASH GUITAR STYLE STRAP

TOM AND WILL UK66C UKULELE GIG BAG

GREAT ASWEGO FATBOY KAZOO - first class product!

PUB PROP Ukulele hanger

NEOTECH Ukulele Strap

MOBIUS Ukulele Strap

FUSION PREMIUM TENOR UKULELE GIG BAG

FLAMING FORMBY HABANERO HOT SAUCE

FISHMAN AG 094 Ukulele Pickup

ROLAND MOBILE CUBE Amplifier

UKULELE HANGERS paracord wall hangers

KALA UKE CRAZY Alligator finish Tenor case

TGI ABS Hard Ukulele Case

FISHMAN PRO EQ II Pre amp box

Round up of Ukulele tuning devices

LR Baggs Venue DI

CLEARWATER / AROMA FOLDING UKULELE STAND

Waverly Ukulele friction tuning pegs

FUSION - Urban Double Gig Bag

D'Addario Clip On Tuners

Ukulele Capos roundup

Logjam Travelog 2 

Gotoh UPT Ukulele tuners

Gator Journeyman Ukulele Case

Kremona UK-1 Ukulele Pickup

iRig Acoustic Stage pickup

G7th UltraLight Ukulele Capo

ROLAND AC33 Amplifier - Coming Soon!







UKULELE APPS AND SOFTWARE

Tun-D iPhone ukulele tuner

UkuChords - iPhone ukulele chord app

Ukulele Tabs - iPhone

Strobe Tuner Pro App - iPhone and iPad




UKULELE MUSIC, BOOKS and FILM

Bosko and Honey Present - Ukulele Safari Volume 1 CD

Chonkinfeckle - I'm From Wigan Me - CD

Eddie Vedder - Ukulele Songs - CD

Introducing... The Paul Hemmings Uketet - CD

Mighty Uke - DVD

Rae Carter - Pathetic (But He's Fun) - CD

Tricity Vogue - The Blue Lady Sings

Manitoba Hal - Flirting With Mermaids CD

Ukulele Exercises For Dummies - Brett McQueen

The Anything Goes Orchestra - Mr Otis Regrets CD review

The pUKEs - Too Drunk To Pluck CD review

Get Plucky With The Ukulele - Will Grove-White

UkePunk - Punk Police CD 

Phil Doleman - Old Is The New New CD

Ukulele Handbook For Beginners - Aaron and Nicole Keim

UKE Magazine

Gerald: A Ukulele Adventure - Jake Smithies and Nicole Ramsden

Manitoba Hal - Dancing In The Moonlight EP

Ben Rouse - Love Of Rin

Jono and The Uke Dealers first EP 

Rik McCormick - Pies Love and Ukulele EP

Phil Doleman and Ian Emmerson - Can't Get Enough Of That Stuff

Ukulele Basics by Lorraine Bow and Alex Davies



UKULELE STRINGS

Seaguar Blue Label Fishing Leader Line - No, really! (my strings of choice!)

D'Addario Pro-Arté J71 Tenor strings D'addario T2 Titanium Tenor strings

D'addario T2 Titanium Tenor strings

Living Water Strings

La Bella Uke-Pro strings

Aquila Lava Strings

Aquila AGxAQ Aldrine Guerrero signature tenor strings






20 comments :

  1. I have been using a great tuner for Android (don't know if there's an iPhone version), called DaTuner. It is a chromatic tuner which is remarkably easy to use and very accurate. The free version is great, but there is also a paid version with more bells and whistles.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Has anyone heard a banjo ukulele by a company called Broadway or a company with a model called broadway. It looks very old. the back is from a good quality wood with RKO radio shapes cut out.

    ReplyDelete
  3. has anyone trid chineese hanknn ukes they are all solid woods (exotic) and look tasty but no reviews

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hiya,
    Do you know where I could purchase a hard case for a matching pair of concert uke's ?
    Thanks
    Mick

    Sorry had to put ID as anonymous as I don't know how this works
    my email address is digelsa@talk21.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Any chance of one of your fine reviews for a Baritone Uke in the future? There are a lot of us Bari players out there!

    ReplyDelete
  6. @Kit - there is a Pono baritone review above - but funny you should say that - the next review is of a Baritone!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Any chance of a guitalele/guitar-ukulele/etc. review at some point? Seem to be more and more of these cropping up at the moment - would be good to have your thoughts on them.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I noticed that you have yet to revue a Gretsch. Here in the US they seem to have a pretty good price point.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Norm - yes I asked Gretsch to loan me one - but they are one of a few who were not interested. Make of that what you will!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi! Please do a review of the Cordoba UP100 Concert uke. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hi. You say that you are going to review Flight DUS 320 soon. But is it possible to know your review score in advance, if you have already tried it? I was just considering buying one these days. Thanks for the site!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Sadly not - haven't even opened the box yet - will be a few weeks yet!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Got an ultra cheap soprano uke as an xmas present and am loving it, and thinking of getting a cheap concert now.

    I was impressed with your review of the Octopus Soprano. Have you tried the Octopus Concert yet? Would love to know if they're as good as the soprano version. £30 on amazon is tempting me!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hi! Thank you so much for your reviews; they're very entertaining and informative. I was wondering if you could help me out as to why there's very little coverage on this blog and others regarding ukuleles produced by companies famous for making guitars like Fender, Martin, Cordoba, Oscar Schmidt, etc. I did see one Martin review, but none of the others (unless I missed them). Are those types of ukuleles typically frowned upon? Can you offer insight there? Thank you again.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Why not even a single review for a Oscar Schmidt?

    ReplyDelete
  16. Because I have asked them multiple times and they have thus far not responded with any assistance. 95% of reviews are loaned to me by brands. Oscar Schmidt have not. Make of that what you will

    ReplyDelete
  17. .prig - there are som eexceptions, but generally speaking I am not a fan of guitar brands making ukuleles. They are usually heavy, over built (built like guitars) and less than pleasing. Fender, Cordoba, OS fit into that category. A great exception is Martin - they have a terrific following and make wonderful ukuleles. Certainly nobody is frowning at Martin!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I'm wondering if you have looked at Lohanu ukes and what you think of the? I just purchased their concert bundle since it was within my budget. I hope that I picked up something decent for a beginner. I appreciate all of the info you offer on your site.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Haven't yet played one Greg - but will put em on list to try to get hold of!

    ReplyDelete

Please leave me a comment!

Got A Ukulele will always be free to view - help keep it that way!

If you enjoy this blog, donations are welcomed to allow me to invest more time in bringing you ukulele articles. Aside from the Google ads, I don't get paid to write this blog. Call it a labour of love! And, no, I don't get to keep the ukuleles that are loaned to to review...